On the use of CHC as substrate

Slippertalk Orchid Forum

Help Support Slippertalk Orchid Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Brabantia

Reaction score
Recently I had included this question in a subject which was covered approximately a year ago(http://www.slippertalk.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1850&page=6). Drowned in the innumerable ones discussed this question received only one answer.
I thus allows me to republish it in a new thread:
One year later, is it news about this subject? It is very interesting because we have a similar discution on a french forum. Is it new opinions on the use of CHC for paphs? Can we use CHC for Paph rothschildianum and sanderianum? Can CHC induce deprives in iron? Many thanks in advance for your news comments on this extreme subject.

I've been using CHC for about 2 years. I use a west coast version of the MSU fertilizer and haven't noticed any iron deficiencies. Summer time has no problems, but in winter CHC stays a bit too wet. Some of the major growers I know on the east and west coast who were once proponents of CHC have switched back to fir bark. I am currently successfully growing roths in CHC and my sanderianums haven't done too well, but that could be because they are sanderianums. My phrags, on the other hand, really love the CHC, especially if I let them sit in a bit of water.

I've been using it for close to 2 years and haven't noticed this being a problem. In fact it's the best media I've ever used, the root systems and growth rates on my plants are amazing.

I've been using CHC with diatomite and a little sponge rock for my Paphs and Phrags for over a year. So far, they like it just fine.