Oak Hill Gardens

Slippertalk Orchid Forum

Help Support Slippertalk Orchid Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Really!? I didn't see that coming. Too bad!!!!!

Just checked their facebook page and their website. No mention of going out of business. In fact, they've got shows booked into June and all seems normal. Maybe a rumour?

so sad, so disappointing .... I had heard back in Jan. but was hoping the mild winter would help them out. I can't imagine Chicagoland Growers Orchidfest without them.

Flashback

I'll never forget the first time I went to Oakhill (and never was the same again), and wanted to try Epicattleya Mae Bly. I saw it through a fenced in area, later learning those were the stud plants. Hey, I was a beginner in that paradise. Herman said, "Vold on . . " He went back to the blooming plant, knocked it out of the plant, took a division, potted and labeled it - end of coveting for the day. Who else would do that? What giving people!! Remember the decades of enjoying opening a box from them. It's like Christmas all year long !!!! Christmas monthly? Christmas bi-monthly? Yes, we all have a problem . .

Unfortunately, the US government has made exporting orchids so difficult that now, wonderful nurseries like Oakhill are suffering. At a time when the domestic hobbyist market is dwindling, you'd think that the government would think it's more important to ease up on the ridiculous amount of red tape and make it easier for companies to export their product.