New variation of Cypripedium henryi?

Slippertalk Orchid Forum

Help Support Slippertalk Orchid Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

san

Reaction score
Hi, I am a newbie from China. Thanks to Yijia for giving me this Cypripedium. When it is blooming we find it's an unusual one. Is it a new species or just a new variation of Cypripedium henryi?
0219010.jpg

0219025.jpg

0219005.jpg

I'm not an expert on Cyp's, but to me it could be just a normal variation of within the species. It is very nice though! :)

Neat San! Thanks for the look and feel free to show us more rare examples of Chinese plants. In the west they are near ghosts.

So the difference here is mostly about the spotting on the flowers, true? That trait is a pretty common morph in other members of section Cypripedium. Ones that come to mind include C. parviflorum, C. kentuckiense, and C. segawai - all of these can have that kind of spotting from time to time. How about flower size, etc.?

Thanks again for the shots!

Thx for the images. I have not seen one with spots but as others have mentioned they do show up on other Cyp flowers from time to time so I suspect I just havent seen enough henryi's. However, the lateral sepals are held very differently from other henryi's I have seen in "the flesh" or in photos. I makes me wonder if this is a hybrid. What is the size of the plant compared to other henryi's? When I have made henryi hybrids, the plant size has seemed to follow the other species.

Interesting!

Ron

Thanks to every one for your kind words and opinions.
Sorry I am not an expert in Cypripedium and have no other henryi to compare with it. The inflorescence has been sent to a researcher of Cypipedium. Surely he has seen numerous henryi. Hope he could give us the answer.
In any case it is an unique one. Hope I can make it bloom again!

It's a newly collected one,Eric. I have an airconditioned cabinet for my alpineplant.