New Plant to Replace the Goner.

Slippertalk Orchid Forum

Help Support Slippertalk Orchid Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Happypaphy7

Paphlover
Reaction score
It seems like I'm having the worst year for orchid growing. :mad:
I've never lost so many plants to diseases in one season.

I just tossed out Paph. delenatii that flowered in the spring last year with great flower. It has been rather slow to grow and not many roots, so I figure it was just a so so plant, but I've been looking forward to another bloom.

It came down with crown rot two weeks ago.
I poured in Dragon's Blood, and it seemed to stop the rot right away, but the entire plant started to be eaten up by rots on the leaves all over.
It was such a horrible sight. Literally the worst I've seen in my collection.
Out of horror, I just had to discard it. :(

Now, in the same time period, one delenatii seedling that I've been raising for two years, and which was near mature size, also came down with this brown disease on the leaves. Also tossed out. :(

Now, my last delenatii which bloomed with a great flower this past spring, which is actually a sibling of the other seedling that I tossed last week, is showing some brown stuff on the leaves.
This is very upsetting because this particular delenatii has tons of healthy roots and I thought it was a super grower. Oh, well.
Time will tell. It has DB all over the leaves and looks freaky now, but so far no spread further.

Last Friday evening, the day I tossed my beautiful delenatii, I came across delenatii dunkel in bud on eBay by icepengwyn (Alex).
I placed an order right away and it came here yesterday.

I hope my other delenatii recovers. I hope this new delenatii will be at least fragrant. will update with a flower photo if it turns out good.

91ns92Fl.jpg

wmR6RSGl.jpg

I'm just ranting on bad luck. :D