Naming Question

Slippertalk Orchid Forum

Help Support Slippertalk Orchid Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JAB

Reaction score
So lets say my Paph sukhakulii 'Fat Boy' that I got from Hillsview gardens blooms. Two questions:
- Since it has already been named and "ranked" (for lack of a better term) is there a point in taking it to judging? Is one simply looking to get a better score? What if 'Fat Boy' has already won a FCC?
- Say I do take it to judging and it scores the highest score ever of a suk... do I add to the name 'Jake and the Fat Boy' or is it forever 'Fat Boy' and I am credited with the score?

Hope that makes sense. I am new to the judging world so not sure how it works in this regard.

Thanks
Jake

It's my understanding that you can always take an orchid to judging and hope for a higher score - as long as there is a new booming.

I'm not sure what you mean by "ranked". If you mean the clonal name 'Fat Boy', I'd say that depends. If it is not a division of another suk 'Fat Boy', and has not yet been awarded, you can probably change it without anyone being the wiser and it probably doesn't really matter. You probably shouldn't change it if it has been judged before and got no award. That would be a little deceptive.

Since you have only purchased a division of this plant you cannot alter the clonal name 'Fat Boy'. If you had purchased the entire plant then you could change the clonal name. This would not be advisable if the plant had previously been used for breeding and had proven itself to be a valuable parent.
If you take it to judging and it gets and award you will be credited with the score and will be noted as the exhibitor.

Also, even if a plant has been awarded, it can be taken in again on a different blooming, if the exhibitor blooms a better flower and wants to try for higher.