Mystery Paph.

Slippertalk Orchid Forum

Help Support Slippertalk Orchid Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bjorn

Reaction score
The Paphiopedilum in the attached pictures came into my posession around 1993-4 under the name "Paphiopedilum villosum "Tibet""
http://img217.imageshack.us/g/29122009004.jpg/
(excuse the quality of the pics. I am a lousy photographer). It has ever since bloomed regularly during the winter, and tholugh these pictures were taken one year ago, it has started again right now with some 6-8 flowers(+ have not counted them). Right, as you understand, this is not exactly in my focus these days, but all these years, I have been wondering what could this be? I have a feeling that it was among some imports that came from China in the late 1980'ies, but have no definite proof for its origin. And then, again, it looks similar to one of the Actaeus hybrids....:confused:
Is there anyone that can provide me with additional info here?
Bjorn:)

How big is the flower?
It would surprise me if it were a straight villosum, there's something about that dorsal that suggests something else.

Weird and spotty.

Something akin to boxali?

I can remember an old thread on villosum varieties a ways back, with Xavier throwing in that just about every valley had its own variety and natural hybrid of villosum.

Hi Bjorn,

where did you purchase the plant ?
my gut feeling tells me it's a maybe [natural] hybrid
between insigne x spicerianum , also villosum has a much hairier spike
if i know where the plant originated ,what orchid farm was it's
always a good start to find out more about this plant
thanx for sharing i hopes this info is helpfull to you
cliokchi:)

The Paphiopedilum in the attached pictures came into my posession around 1993-4 under the name "Paphiopedilum villosum "Tibet""
http://img217.imageshack.us/g/29122009004.jpg/