Internal Server Error

Discussion in 'Talk back!' started by emydura, Aug 6, 2017.

Slippertalk Orchid Forum

Help Support Slippertalk Orchid Forum:

  1. Aug 6, 2017 #1

    emydura

    emydura

    emydura

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    6,763
    Likes Received:
    75
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    Sometimes when I try and submit a post I get the error message below. I have absolutely no idea what causes this error. I was trying to submit a couple of sentences today and could not get past this error. It drives me crazy. This seems to be a bug.



    Internal Server Error

    The server encountered an internal error or misconfiguration and was unable to complete your request.

    Please contact the server administrator, webmaster@slippertalk.com and inform them of the time the error occurred, and anything you might have done that may have caused the error.

    More information about this error may be available in the server error log.

    Additionally, a 404 Not Found error was encountered while trying to use an ErrorDocument to handle the request.
     
  2. Aug 6, 2017 #2

    troy

    troy

    troy

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2014
    Messages:
    6,148
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    no hatred!!
    This could be the result of bad karma, I never get this problem
     
  3. Aug 7, 2017 #3

    SlipperFan

    SlipperFan

    SlipperFan

    Addicted

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    Messages:
    43,301
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    David, I've seen this message occasionally on other sites. I imagine it as the signal encountering an air bubble that messes up the signal. Nothing to do with the operator (you or me). I just wait awhile and try again - it usually goes through.
     
  4. Aug 8, 2017 #4

    Heather

    Heather

    Heather

    Administrator Staff Member Admin Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    Messages:
    10,489
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA. Outside w/ Southeast Exposure
    First I've heard, which generally means there's not much of an issue, just a hiccup as Dot said. Otherwise everyone would be emailing me. :)
     
  5. Aug 8, 2017 #5

    NYEric

    NYEric

    NYEric

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Messages:
    47,181
    Likes Received:
    85
    Location:
    New York City Apartment
    I occasionally had a similar message when searching for past posts.
     
  6. Aug 10, 2017 #6

    emydura

    emydura

    emydura

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    6,763
    Likes Received:
    75
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    I could try and post it for a million years and it won't post. I have been trying for a week and always get the same error message. I have pasted it in normally, I have pasted it in as unformatted text, I have even typed it in. But I still get the same error message.

    This is all I am trying to post. I have had to post it as an image for you to see it. I get this error quite often and I can never explain it.


    [​IMG]
     
  7. Aug 10, 2017 #7

    Ozpaph

    Ozpaph

    Ozpaph

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Messages:
    15,017
    Likes Received:
    124
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Thats wierd David. Never seen that problem.
    TON charge way more for their suk flasks but these would be from Sam (probably TON parentage)
     
  8. Aug 10, 2017 #8

    TrueNorth

    TrueNorth

    TrueNorth

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2015
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    11
    I had the same problem this week. I had a 3 paragraph reply to a post and I kept getting a 500 internal server error. Playing around, I was able to post the first 2 paragraphs separately, but the 3rd paragraph would not post even a day later.
     
  9. Aug 10, 2017 #9

    emydura

    emydura

    emydura

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    6,763
    Likes Received:
    75
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    Yes, if I delete a sentence from the above I can get it to post. I have had the same experience in the past. If you delete a couple of sentences or paragraph it will successfully post. It is difficult to see what was in the offending sentences that was stopping it from posting though.
     
  10. Aug 11, 2017 #10

    naoki

    naoki

    naoki

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2012
    Messages:
    2,080
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
    I have seen this issue occasionally. There are some characters or a sentence which vBulletin doesn't like. I usually had to do the binary search to find the offending part. As David said, it is not clear why that particular part causes the problem. At first, I thought that it might be something to do with invisible characters from copy and paste, but it wasn't the case. After removing the sentence, I retype the same sentence, and it caused the same problem.
     
  11. Aug 11, 2017 #11

    Linus_Cello

    Linus_Cello

    Linus_Cello

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011
    Messages:
    2,955
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    Washington DC, USA
    VBulletin is trying to protect us from calling forth the gateway to the alternate dimension:wink:
     
  12. Aug 13, 2017 #12

    emydura

    emydura

    emydura

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    6,763
    Likes Received:
    75
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    It doesn't like the first sentence after the cross name (Both parents are ...). I can post the rest but it won't allow the inclusion of that sentence. Even if I try to post that sentence on its own I get that error message. Can someone else try and post that sentence and see if they get the same error message.

    [​IMG]
     
  13. Aug 13, 2017 #13

    Heather

    Heather

    Heather

    Administrator Staff Member Admin Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    Messages:
    10,489
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA. Outside w/ Southeast Exposure
    Ok this is ringing a bell now! I think it has something to do with the name of the cross. Tom had an issue...let me see if I can find it. I think I made a sticky about this....
     
  14. Aug 13, 2017 #14

    Heather

    Heather

    Heather

    Administrator Staff Member Admin Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    Messages:
    10,489
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA. Outside w/ Southeast Exposure
    Here it is! There is indeed a sticky about it in the photo forums. http://www.slippertalk.com/forum/showthread.php?t=34342

    There is a rule built in to keep the server running smoothly called a ModSecurity rule that the attachment process was tripping. Apparently the attachment file had an illegal naming convention in it. If the filename has a single or double quote in it, it trips this rule and generates an error.

    When this is the case, then a simple rename of the file should allow you to upload the file.

    Of course this is an issue for us because of the use of single quotation marks around clonal names.

    For example, Tom's Phrag. vitattum 'Birchwood' jpg file had the quotes included in the name of the attachment which tripped the rule and caused the server error. When I removed the quotes around 'Birchwood', the photo uploaded just fine.

    So, please make sure when uploading attachments that your files do not have single or double quotation marks in the file name.
     
  15. Aug 13, 2017 #15

    emydura

    emydura

    emydura

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    6,763
    Likes Received:
    75
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    I think this is a different issue. I'm not trying to attach anything. I just can't post this sentence (which doesn't have any apostrophe's) -

    Both parents are selected ....... with over 30 in bloom.

    I can post all of the words individually, so there doesn't appear to be any characters it doesn't recognise. I just can't post those words in combination.

    Again, I ask someone to try and post this sentence in full and see if the same error is triggered.
     
  16. Aug 13, 2017 #16

    gonewild

    gonewild

    gonewild

    Grower

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Messages:
    5,142
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Puerto Maldonado, Peru
    Same error for all or any part. Take the hint, you are not supposed to say that.
     
  17. Aug 13, 2017 #17

    gonewild

    gonewild

    gonewild

    Grower

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Messages:
    5,142
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Puerto Maldonado, Peru
    I tried to post your words in a new thread and still get the server error.
     
  18. Aug 14, 2017 #18

    NYEric

    NYEric

    NYEric

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Messages:
    47,181
    Likes Received:
    85
    Location:
    New York City Apartment
    Now that I think about it I was searching crosses, something x something, or the word elfins.
     
  19. Aug 14, 2017 #19

    emydura

    emydura

    emydura

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    6,763
    Likes Received:
    75
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    Thanks Lance. So you have proven this issue is repeatable for others. Quite clearly this is a bug that needs to be looked at and fixed.
     
  20. Aug 14, 2017 #20

    Heather

    Heather

    Heather

    Administrator Staff Member Admin Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    Messages:
    10,489
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA. Outside w/ Southeast Exposure
    I'll look into it when I have time but as Naoki said it may be an issue with the software. Maybe just change the sentence if you can for now.
     

Share This Page



arrow_white