How to prevent erwinia?

Slippertalk Orchid Forum

Help Support Slippertalk Orchid Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Votes: 0 0.0%

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters
I just had a thought for what it might be worth.
I am no Paphiopedilum expert like so many of you are. I am just an old school grower who does not like to use chemicals on anything. I have grown a good number of Paphs in my time and I can honestly say that I never have suspected that I lost a single plant to Erwinia. Not a one. And the only thing I can suggest is that I have always tried to keep water out of the 'crowns' of the slippers. I pot water from above but very carefully. I use a watering wand with a narrow head. And along with that I have always used an abundance of air movement. I like a light breeze blowing right over the tops of the plants. Now that I am 6 years under lights here in Michigan, the fans are on the same timers with the lights. I too water early in the day.
The only other thing I can add is plant spacing. Good air movement over plants that are spaced too tightly, too close together might hinder or block what you might think is good air movement. In Florida out of doors where the Paphs' got water in the crowns all of the time from rain showers, I did not lose any there either. I was there 9 years. Why do I think that was? Very good air movement and plant spacing.

I completely agree with you on these points. In principal, air movement and proper watering should greatly help reduce rot problems.

However, consider a moment this video from Paph Paradise on "how to water Paphiopedilums": How to Water Orchids

As you can see here, the plants are quite close and for sure water is getting into the crown of most of these. Yet this does not seem to cause erwinia problems for them. Is it the solar radiation, pH, or something else?