Hi! I'm another new member

Slippertalk Orchid Forum

Help Support Slippertalk Orchid Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
N

nikv

Hi!

I've recently joined this forum and thought I'd start a thread to introduce myself. My name is Nik. I live in the San Francisco Bay Area although I was born and raised in Minnesota. Been living in California now for twenty-five years.

I've been growing orchids now for around twenty years now. I got started when a co-worker of mine would bring in to work a different orchid in flower each week. This sparked many delightful conversations about orchids. I started going to orchid shows and then I discovered the sales area. Look out! I managed to fill up all of my available windowsill space in my tiny apartment. Now, I have a home in suburbia with an attached greenhouse.

I'm particularly fond of paphiopedilums and have managed to grow a few to specimen size. My favorites are the multi-florals and the cochliopedilums. Not sure if I spelled that right, but you know what I mean. I have a Paph. Prime Child that I bought fifteen years ago as a compot at a show. I gave away most of them but kept the largest one for myself. It now fills up a ten-inch pot and has at least twenty growths. Blooms for me each Summer. I also have a Paph. St. Low that I've grown to be quite large. It's bloomed for me several times. I have a photo of it somewhere. I'll have to look for it.