Hello

Slippertalk Orchid Forum

Help Support Slippertalk Orchid Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

spujr

ST Supporter
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I'm new to this site however not new to orchids and Paphs. A little about me: I am an amateur grower, in the sense I don't grow and sell paphs for a living. However, I was a student under the late Dr. Yoneo Sagawa at the University of Hawaii studying paph meristem culture for my MS. I now work for a seed company as a vegetable plant breeder and recently set up my own little greenhouse for my orchids.

The greenhouse has been quite the learning experience for me and I thought I would share. I bought one of the small 6'x8'x10' Palram greenhouses. With no cooling system the temperatures were unfit for the orchids. Thus I cut out and installed a fan and air vents connected to a temperature sensor:
2015-10-24%2012.13.11.jpg
[/URL][/IMG]
I travel a lot so I wanted the irrigation and temperature to be controlled automatically or remotely. Therefore, I decided to install a mist system that would act as a cooler and an irrigation method in the morning.

This worked fine by connecting it to an irrigation timer on the outdoor hose sprocket. However, I soon discovered how bad our water quality is here (very hard) and noticed the plants were suffering and the misting heads were getting clogged with calcium carbonate. This prompt me to install a RO/rainwater system. The challenge was to feed the misting system with enough volume and pressure of the RO water. After numerous trials and errors, I found the Aquatech 8000 booster pump. I connected this pump to the rain barrel and covered it with a small bucket to avoid water and electricity mixing:
2015-10-24%2012.11.39.jpg
[/URL][/IMG]
2015-10-24%2012.12.05.jpg
[/URL][/IMG]