Hello from NJ

Slippertalk Orchid Forum

Help Support Slippertalk Orchid Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
L

LindaFVB

Hi everybody,
I have been reading and learning from this site for a few weeks and thought it was time to say hello.:)
I am a newbie to orchids and still trying to figure out what works best for me. I have added 4 paphs. this year. I have a 'Delenatii x Victoria Regina' that actually put out 3 flower buds on its spike. Lost all three! The buds got big but fell off before they opened.
I also have a 'Macabre', this one has a new leaf just showing and has had nice growth over the summer.
My LunaMoth ' Gossamer' x limelight 'Day Glow', I recently purchased in S/H. This has an unopened flower, I hope this bud does not fall off.
And lastly I was given a 'A. Dimmock'. I can not seem to find anyplace cool enough for this big guy. I am still trying to find a spot where night temps. are low enough.
If anyone can give me any hints on how to keep this gang happy, I would certainly appreciate it!
Thanks for any direction and I look forward learning from all of you.
Linda

Hello, welcome to the forum Linda. Glad to have you here. Can you tell us about your growing conditions? How often you water, how much light do you give them, what kind of mix are they in...etc...etc..

thanks everyone for the welcome!
When I lost the last of the buds on 'Delanatii X Victoria Regina' I moved the 3 mottled leafed paphs. in with my phals. I thought they may need warmer conditions. All are on humidity trays. There is a 140 watt wonderlite 12-15 inches above. Also they are about 15 inches away from a s-w window. I use Better Gro products. They are planted in a mix of fir bark, charcoal and perilite. I fertilize everyother week with Orchid Plus 20-14-13. The 'LimeLight' day Glow is in S/H. This is my first orchid in S/H, and so far the bud continues to grow.