Greenhouses

Slippertalk Orchid Forum

Help Support Slippertalk Orchid Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
There are many successful growers on here on windowsills and under lights, as Tom Reddick's chronicles prove. I am currently growing orchids on a windowsill and under lights since 1998.
I think it would be fascinating and aspiring to see pics of the exterior and interior of enthusiasts greenhouses. Dimensions also, what size greenhouse and brand, how was it installed, self built? What kind of heat, how is it cooled. Summer times here in Kentucky are pretty warm. Shading? Benches? R/O water,cistern/rainwater, city water? I think this would be an interesting topic for many enthusiasts. Thanks, Duck

I have been growing in a greenhouse for fifteen years, I never intended to have the greenhouse for growing orchids. I use to grow in the house for about three years and then finally decided I cant keep going on like this. So the collection moved in to the greenhouse.

The greenhouse is an Elite Greenhouse, 8X10 we built it our selfs, it sit's on a slab base all 2by2 slabs and then four 2by2 slab path with a shape of grave in the middle, under the once side of the bench has got all my old house plants growing under then bench.

The greenhouse is heavily insulated to help with the cost of heating, I heat by a 3kw electric heater and have 3kw Propane heater as a stand by if the electric cuts out.

I use a green shade netting, in the summer two layes one on the inside and one on the outside. With the vents and netting is a enough to keep it cool in the summer, in the UK we dont get many hot days but if we do I have a fan just in case.