Feed adjustments.

Slippertalk Orchid Forum

Help Support Slippertalk Orchid Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Carper

Reaction score
Hi All.

I'm always experimenting on my mainly multifloral paph collection. I mainly keep to feeding my Akerne feed, 13-3-15-7-2 normally around once a week at around 400 u/S strength. My seedlings get watered every other day at around 100 u/S. I use RO water and grow in orchiata with added perlite only. The last couple of weeks I have added calcium nitrate solution to my akerne and increased the strength of the final feed by approx. 25%. To be brief, I have noticed a real improvement in growth in most of my plants, that goes for the large ones and all the seedlings. They seem to be growing significantly faster and look healthier than they were before I started this. As I'm not good with calculations, does this final solution sound OK to continue with or are there any disadvantages.

Thanks

Gary
UK

Thats about 100uS more which is about 50 ppm inceease of nitrate and calcium. You just added about 20- 30 ppm of calcium. For multi, i use this strength. And your obsetvation is the same as mine.

Sent from my HTC One using Tapatalk

Personally, I'd chalk that up to "wishful seeing." Hard for me to imagine you'd see a significant change in a couple of weeks.

Personally, I'd chalk that up to "wishful seeing." Hard for me to imagine you'd see a significant change in a couple of weeks.

Ray,

It's the only real change that I've made from my normal regime for months. That goes for everything. Our days are getting are getting shorter so less light and my temps are cooling to around 70f as the daily norm. I'm not complaining so I'll stick with change and keep fingers crossed that it continues. Was just making sure that the balance of the feed was still ok. Sounds like it is.

Gary