eBay question

Slippertalk Orchid Forum

Help Support Slippertalk Orchid Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

AdamD

Catasetinae Crazed
Reaction score
I recently bid on a plant that I ended up winning- at my max bid. Just wanted to ask those who have sold plants on eBay before (or anything else for that matter). Is it possible to see a bidder's max bid? If so, could you tip off your friend to bid just below the max bid to drive up the price?

I have no experience in selling, it's just, my max bid was an odd price to end at... It just seems strange.

As a bidder you should be able to see the full bid history.
Anyway I hope you haven't disclosed your max bid...

Hello AdamD. There are several points to consider when bidding on eBay:
1. If you see a plant you want to acquire, figure out how much you really want to own it and establish your maximum bid. Do this a couple of days before the auction ends. Put a "watch" on your target. But do not bid.
2. Make sure you have a good and fast Internet connection on your computer.
3. Approximately a minute before the auction ends, enter your maximum bid. Most people enter round numbers. But you apparently had an odd number on your bid, such as, $34.57--and that is why you won your bid. Entering an odd number like this will increase your chances of winning an auction.
4. This is why you need to know how fast your internet connection is--confirm your bid T-5 seconds. This is known as "snipping". Doing this late bidding gets your adrenaline going but increases your chances of winning.
5. If you loose the auction, chances are the vendor will have another plant available and you'll see it up for auction. I'm very cynical when a vendor puts the word "rare" on their plant's description.