Disa aurata

Slippertalk Orchid Forum

Help Support Slippertalk Orchid Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

naoki

Reaction score
This is from May 2014, but I'm still trying to catch up with my photo editing from this spring/summer.

Disa aurata, on Flickr

I got it from Wally Orchard of Afrodisa this spring. So I can't take a credit of flowering it. But it is still alive at least. His plants are very nice, and he is very helpful (and his price is too good). This is my first year with growing Disa, and I already killed 2x D. uniflora (maybe the night time temp wasn't cold enough, or I didn't give enough water). I need to get more D. uniflora...

I can see why Disa is so addicting, and I enjoyed reading Tenman's article here. I'd love to learn about the culture of stream Disa from other Disa growers!

Last edited:
The big issue is keeping them cool and damp in the summer. In your case, if you are not growing them under lights in the winter they may not be getting enough light. These plants are active growers all year round. There is only a brief period in May/June where the old growths senese and the young ones emerge. The other big no-no is moderate fertilizer---it seems to kill them. Fertilizers need to be very dilute but constant for good growth. This is why semi-hydroponics seems to work so well for them.

Thank you, Tyrone. I'm growing them under lights, but I wonder if it will get enough light. Also, getting low temp in the winter is a challenge for me once the heater kicks in.

I was trying lower fertilizer for D.uniflora, but it might have been too much (it was around 15ppm N MSU in rain water once a week or so). For the surviving ones (D. aurata and D. tripetaloides), I'm trying to reduce it further. But I'm getting this pale leaves in the newer growth. Do you have any idea what's going on? Disa seems to be completely different from other orchids, so I'm not sure how to deal with it.