Complete and utter newbie in need of advice

Slippertalk Orchid Forum

Help Support Slippertalk Orchid Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

The Mutant

Reaction score
So hi,

I'm very new to the wonderful world of Paphs, so new that I've only seen them on pictures...

I'm a Phal nut, though a newbie when it comes to those too, that has decided to branch out to another genus and I've recently booked my very first Paph. I've no idea if it was a good beginner's choice, or if I might have doomed it to a premature death. I had booked a Rosy Dawn too, but after being enlightened about its environmental (you guys differ between cultur, environment, and conditions or?) demands I realized I couldn't possibly buy it since I'm just a windowsill grower.

The one I'm waiting for is a Paphoipedilum ceramense (which apparently does not exist) which also seems to be called Paph. bullenianum var. ceramensis according to a kind member of Orchid Board.

My plan is to place this guy together with the Phal crew (hopefully they won't bully it too much) in my east-facing window. I was thinking of putting it in the same mix I use for my Phals, which consists of, pine bark (fine grade as in contrast to the Phals), sphagnum, and perlite. Should I add some limestone to the mix?