C. lueddemanniana

Slippertalk Orchid Forum

Help Support Slippertalk Orchid Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Is the column configuration completely specific for lueddemanniana but not completely sensitive? If you see it, you know it is lueddemanniana but if it is lacking it might still be lueddemannia? My human medicine mind keeps looking for pathognomonic findings that always mean something. The uncertainty with Cattleya species identification is frustrating and I think it will be a long time before there are routine genetic studies to resolve differences.

Well I am unsure as to what my answer should be.
I am not a taxonomic expert but I had enough experience in floral identications to remember that when looking at species working your way through a flower or species key, you work your way through the key with a series of steps or choices. If not this, then it is this. And then that step or decision leads you to a couple of other choices or species. My minor in College was Botany. Plant taxonomy specifically.
I would have to look at an identification key to know exactly where lueddemanniana fits it and what are it’s closely related relatives. I will have to see if I might find such a key in my half ton of orchid books and papers. I will report back if I find anything.
Have you consulted Carl Withner’s series of volumes on Cattleyas, Laelias etc. That is where I am going to start.
Then I will try orchidspecies.com because I know that they go through detailed taxonomic information.

I respectfully disagree I think. As judges, we are not really taxonomists in a sense.