Blooming Potential-My Terrarium Experience (Part 1)

Slippertalk Orchid Forum

Help Support Slippertalk Orchid Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Chicago Chad

Reaction score
It was suggested that I share my growing experiences with terrariums and how I set them up. So since I like talking plants more than anything else, here it is.

(In the beginning…)

I’ve been growing orchids for about 5-6 yrs. In this time I have tried to grow many different Genus of orchids. Some turned out better than others. Halfway through this time, I had to give up my orchid collection (about 150 plants) and move across the country as a result of many continuous bad decisions. Rather than sulk over my previous plants, now departed, I became determined to really focus my collection within a few choice areas. I spend more time researching orchids than growing them so I have a fairly detailed understanding of cultural requirements. With those in mind, I had to create an environment that allowed them to flourish. Due to limitations in my budget, my current and unforgiving geographical location and so on, I decided that growing in terrariums (orchidariums or whatever you choose to call them) would be the best option for me. I know that at some point I will indeed move again, so I have no intentions of building a greenhouse here. I now have more plants than I previously had collected before the move, but with greater success, better health and worthier stock. My terrarium experience has been exceptionally positive and I would like to share my experience.

(The Target Group)