Aloooooha

Slippertalk Orchid Forum

Help Support Slippertalk Orchid Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
L

limuhead

Hi everyone,

I posted a few things after joining a few days ago and one of the people who saw my post(s) suggested I come in here and introduce myself. Ok, I am very fortunate to live in Wahiawa Heights, which is one of the highest residential neighborhoods on the island of Oahu. Our house is situated at just over 1,100 feet on a ridge where the cool trade winds and abundant sunshine(even though it rains almost every day) make the conditions pretty much perfect for growing orchids of many types. I work as a carpenter all over the island so my commute is not all that bad even though Honolulu is known for some of the worst traffic in the USA. Being located in the center of the island means I am a 15 minute drive from my favorite surfing, fishing, and diving spots on the North Shore and still close to 'town' if I need to get there. For the last 20 or so years I have lived within 100 feet of the beach so I have grown and collected some amazing warm growing cattleya and dendrobium species, displayed and sold at local orchid shows, given culture talks and demonstrations to local societies, and even judged at small shows on Oahu and neighbor islands. Now that my daughter is away at college and her mom and I moved to 'Gods Country' I plan on putting more time into and focusing on growing and hybridizing Phrags and some cooler growing species. In the Spring when it starts warming up I will be happy to trade many of the species that I have been raising and line breeding over the years with anyone who is interested(will be posting pictures soon). Looking forward to talking with all those who share my newly found passion for Phrags and will be grateful for any helpful hints. And yes, the avatar is me on Halloween a few years ago; I love life and having a good time...
Mahalo and Aloha, Fred;)